John Mellencamp-The Best I Could Do 1978-1988 (2XLP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $27.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Best That I Could Do 1978-1988 is the first greatest hits compilation album by singer-songwriter John Mellencamp, released by Mercury Records in 1997. It compiles Mellencamp's most popular material recorded during his first decade with Riva and Mercury Records, beginning with 1978's A Biography, up through 1987's The Lonesome Jubilee, with a new recording of Terry Reid's "Without Expression". Mellencamp picked the songs for the album and also came up with the title for the album. The album reached #33 on the Billboard 200. This album and Rough Harvest came about because, after leaving Mercury Records for Columbia Records, Mellencamp still owed the label two more albums.

  1. I Need a Lover
  2. Ain't Even Done with the Night
  3. Hurts So Good
  4. Jack & Diane
  5. Crumblin' Down
  6. Pink Houses
  7. Authority Song
  8. Lonely Ol' Night
  9. Small Town
  10. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.
  11. Paper in Fire
  12. Cherry Bomb
  13. Check It Out
  14. Without Expression