Wes Montgomery-Groove Yard (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $19.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Montgomery Brothers were one of the finest sibling-based groups in jazz, featuring the inimitable guitarist Wes, pianist and vibraphonist Monk, and bassist Buddy. Wes Montgomery (1925-1968) is now widely revered as one of the finest guitarists in jazz history. Groove Yard was Wes' seventh album with his brothers. It was recorded in a single day, which according to the original producer, Orrin Keepnews, was probably due to "work and travel pressures". Buddy Montgomery had intended to play half of the album on piano, and the other half on vibes, but, according to Keepnews, "the motor on his rather travel-weary vibraphone refused to cooperate and he is heard strictly on piano".

  1. Bock to Bock
  2. Groove Yard
  3. If I Should Lose You
  4. Delirium
  5. Just for Now
  6. Doujie
  7. Heartstrings
  8. Remember